I checked this out on
on http://www.moveoveramerica.com/ and also on
and this is truly a law.
It's slightly different in every state as to the points and fines. But it can be VERY hefty, and can include up to 3 points, and even losing your license temporarily.
I think the idea is a good one, but I'm concerned about heavily-trafficed areas and all the drivers behind me who will probably NOT know about this.
It's been in place in some states since 2003... why aren't we hearing about this on the news? As it stands, I think it sounds like a potential disaster if more people aren't aware of it.
New Driving Law
NEW DRIVING LAW IN ALL STATES EXCEPT HAWAII AND DC – NOT A JOKE
It’s a sensible law but most people are unaware of it.
NEW DRIVING LAW IN CALIFORNIA AND OTHER STATES....WARNING
This is a forwarded message worth reading. Check the Snopes description on the bottom and beware!!
THE FINES CAN REACH UP TO $1050.00 AND YOU AUTOMATICALLY LOSE YOUR LICENSE FOR A YEAR--SO TELL YOUR KIDS AND EVERY ONE YOU KNOW WHO DRIVES
While driving across Arizona a few weeks ago, I observed an Arizona Highway patrolman parked on the side of the freeway with his lights flashing for no apparent reason. I soon reasoned that he was probably waiting for some unsuspecting soul to violate the new law. Beware my friend.
From the size of that fine it seems like it would be best to slow down to 20 MPH under the speed limit AND move over.
I was aware of the move over to outer lane and knew to slow down, but I didn't know about the 20 mph under speed limit. Thought maybe this might be good information to pass on.
Someone added: This happened to my aunt on the four lane right outside of Dyersburg , TN a few months ago. Her ticket was over $300 and it cost her three points on her license, too. A state trooper and a county cop had someone else pulled over. She slowed down and moved over a little, but not all the way into the other lane. The trooper wasn't understanding at all. Mom was with her and she didn't know about the law either.
NEW TRAFFIC LAW - 2010 If a patrol car is pulled over to the side of the road, you have to change to the next lane (away from the stopped vehicle) OR slow down to at least 20 mph under the posted speed limit. Every state and Maryland and the D.C. has this law. In Hawaii , the Move-over law became effective on July 10, 2012. In California , the Move-over law became operative on January 1, 2010. A friend's son got a ticket for this recently. A police car (turned out it was two police cars) was on the side of the road giving a ticket to someone else. He slowed down to pass but did not move into the other lane. The second police car immediately pulled him over and gave him a ticket. He had never heard of the law. It is a fairly new law that states if any emergency vehicle is on the side of the road, if you are able, you are to move into the far lane. The cost of the ticket was $754, with three points on his license and a mandatory court appearance. Please let every-one you know who drives about this new law. It is true (see details at the following web addresses).This same law applies to tow trucks and medical emergency vehicles like ambulances on the side of the road.